2014 PEN Award for Heart Strong by Nina Serrano

Josephine Miles 2014 PEN Award for Excellence in Literature

ns6 rgb front cover w

Estuary Press is proud to announce that Heart Strong, Selected Poems 2000-2012 by Nina Serrano has won the Oakland Josephine Miles 2014 PEN Award for Excellence in Literature. First and foremost, this award brings much deserved honors to Nina Serrano’s poetry written in the 21st Century. Her poetry gives voice to a woman’s journey, chronicling its strong heart and understanding while facing the challenges of life and fighting for social justice and a healthy planet. She played and continues to play an important role in the cultural life of San Francisco’s literary community. This award for Excellence in Literature is richly deserved.

“The PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Awards were created twenty years ago to honor writers of exceptional works often not acknowledged by the mainstream literary community.  Judged by respected writers, the awards honor books published the previous year that both reflect a multi-cultural or marginalized viewpoint and represent the highest standards of literature.”  John Curl, Vice President, PEN Oakland Board.

2014 Pen Award Recepients

2014 Pen Award

The PEN Award recognizes a book that comes out of the new world of independent publishing that Estuary Press has embraced. It gives hope to independents that recognition can be achieved for producing quality books that offer readers a glimpse into creative worlds that have been and continue to be beyond the reach of market oriented traditional publishers.  For that we are very grateful.  Thank you PEN!

The award will be presented Saturday, December 6, 1–5 pm, at the Rockridge Branch Library, 5366 College Avenue, Oakland, CA.

white 15Send to Kindle
Skip to content